Begun, The Census Wars Has

[megalomania]

Consider this scenario, then answer these questions:  Someone comes to your property, they lift the latch on your gate, and enter onto your property.  This person, entering your property, you neither know them, nor do you know what they want.  Are they there to do you harm?  Are they there to steal your property?  You don’t know?

What would your reaction be to this intruder?

What would you do?

This actually happened here in Hawai’i.  From West Hawai’i Today:

When I opened his gate and walked in … he stepped out of his garage and said, ‘Please get off my property,'” Haas said Friday. Haas said he identified himself as a Census worker, and the man again requested for him to leave.

At this point, the Census worker has trespassed onto the homeowners property.  A clear violation of the law.  After repeatedly asked to leave, the census worker argues with the homeowner, and refuses to leave the homeowners property.  Finally, the homeowner calls the police.  The police arrive, question both the homeowner and the trespasser, and then the officers tell the census worker to leave the homeowners property.

What happens next is mind numbing.  The census worker challenges the police officers.  Instead of leaving, reporting the situation back to census headquarters, the census worker challenges the police.  Think about this, the census worker is ordered off the homeowner’s property, he refuses, get’s belligerent with the police, and then the inevitable happens:


“I turned to him [the police] and said, ‘Or what?‘ And he said, ‘I’ll lock you up.'” And I turned back and said, ‘So make your case.’ They threw the cuffs on me, took me down to Keaau Police Station and I waited there until my daughter bailed me out.” Haas’ bail was $25.

According to the Census Bureau website, people are required by federal law to respond to the census. Title 13 of the U.S. Code says adults who refuse or willfully neglect to complete the questionnaire can be fined up to $100, and people who refuse to answer questions posed by census takers can be fined up to $5,000.

The arrogance of the census worker could not be clearer.  If the census worker was properly trained, he should have returned to the census management, reported the events that transpired, and then let the higher authorities take appropriate action.   Instead, the census worker thought he was above the law.  The census worker was Wrong!

As it turns out (I hate using that phrase), the charges were dismissed against the census worker.  The judge also required the police to better train their officers when dealing with the census workers.  Afterwords, a flurry of criticism came out on several blogs against the police.  However, what about the census worker kuleana?

The Kona Blog posted a heated criticism of the police actions in this whole fiascoes.  I highly respect the Kona Blog, and I find the posts interesting, informative, and sometimes, provocative.  I disagreed with the criticism of the police, and I posted a response:

My point was that the census worker is equally at fault, and should be held to the same standards.  If anyone knows how the subdivisions are laid out in the Puna district, I think you would reconsider who should bear the bulk of the criticism.  People are quick to criticize the police.  On this island, there is one police officer, per 1000 people.  Where as on the island of O’Ahu, there is one police officer per 100 people.  That ratio of 1000 to 1, causes a huge amount of stress on law enforcement, spread thinly, on the Big Island.  Often, with open hostility towards the police.

Now, enter in Mr. Portantbody:

Now, normally I wouldn’t pay no never mind to the hyperbole, delusions of grandeur, this blogger, that replied to my posts.  No, he’s really not that important to me at all, but it’s just too tempting not to indulge, and engage, in a laughable piece of hypocrisy.  Note the ALL-CAPS comment.  Oh, so loud!

WRONG: Census workers are NOT mandated to be on your property?

The Law States: People are required to respond to the census.

That’s what the law says.  But why let facts get in the way of the truth.  You cannot argue with Idiots.  Or can you?

Well, the Kona Blog wanted more traffic, well, let’s see how this works out.  I don’t want to flood the Kona Blog with needless hyperbole, when I could use this delicious bit of stupidity, by a self-absorbed liberal nutcase, to make a point.

I have no idea, nor do I care, and I don’t know why this individual would have any involvement in a case that was between the Hilo Police and a Census worker.  Note, he says “in a sense“, what does that mean?  I guess this guy thinks he’s some kinda ultimate arbitrator.  If that’s so, then why do we need the courts, we have Mr. Portantbody!  [He’s Mister Important Body] YEA!

So, let’s all review shall we: Property invasion, belligerent worker get cuffed and canned, judge makes both parties kiss and make up.  Everyone goes away and lives happily ever after.

Fact: Everyone, that has a mailing address got the census form.

This homeowner is a Police Officer, you don’t think they already got the census form?  Filled it out, and sent it in?

Maybe they did, maybe they didn’t.

It’s not the census workers job to trespass on private property.

Here’s a reason why you should side with the police.  You don’t know if someone entering your property, is either there to do you harm, or to steal from you.  The subdivisions in Puna have a real problem with property theft.  You read about it in the newspaper everyday.  Read my post comment, a census worker actually tried to enter my property.  I was appalled, and angry, by the census worker’s attempt to enter my property.  We have scammers, disguised as census workers trying to rip people off.  I didn’t know who this person was, but I was deeply offended by this person’s attempt to enter my property.  I can only imagine what the property owner was thinking at the time.

It’s a fact, Jack!  People get robbed here.   Here’s a video of a Puna homeowner, tired of being ripped off by people trespassing on his property, catches a potential thief checking out the gate.  This happens a lot here.  You have to defend yourself.  Read the comments from the YouTube Poster.  Pahoa had a real problem with theft crime, until the video camera’s went up.

Watch this video and judge for yourself:

TO CATCH A THIEF

We have had many issues with people stealing/vandalizing our property.
We’ve had our news papers lit on fire and melted the flaming delivery box onto my yard. Someone stole our entire gate one afternoon when I came home for lunch and left it unlocked for the 30 minutes while I ate a sandwich. When I went to leave my gate was gone.

Over the years we have been building a rock wall along the front of our property and installed a electric gate opener for those rainy Puna days. About a year ago my wife was leaving and the gate opener seemed to malfunction, but when I looked at it after work I noticed the automatic opener was unbolted and disconnected…. sorta just laying there… I had cut the threads on the bolts so someone couldnt just unbolt it and walk off with it, guess it only worked on about half the fasteners. Having them welded this weekend.
We installed several wilife video cameras around the property.

Yesterday while we were at the beach our cameras captured this… Gate is scratched up but otherwise seems to of held up well…

And now, the hypocrisy:

While reading a story at the Big Island Chronicle Blog:

Within the last couple of hours the women depicted in these photographs were caught on surveillance stealing approximately $150 worth of merchandise from Jeff Hunt Surfboards in Pahoa.

Pretty nonchalant, don’tcha think?  This is the same person that thinks the Census worker have the right to trespass on your property.  When did property rights go out the window, along with individual rights?

Stupid is as Stupid does

What’s for Dinner?

Some People Wear Their Eggs Better Than Others

REPEAL CBAMACARE

🙂

