Aloha Wau Ia Moku o Keawe

loveHawaii

For so many reasons.  I’ve lived and traveled all over the world, and I cannot find another place like the Big Island of Hawai’i.  Tranquil and serene, quiet and peaceful, this island is a paradise that few realize.

Kakahiaka Lāpule, Sunday morning, is a special day in Hawai’i.  In the lower Puna district of the east side of the big island is the rain forest.  Sheltered by cool trade breezes and a canopy of tall palms and trees to shade you from the heat of the sun.

Wela i ka Lā.  Pumehana kino, i ku’u poli.  The Sun warms the body and the soul.  A cool drink to pass the time enjoying the quiet time.

Starting the fire on the smoker to cook some chicken wings for dinner, while relaxing and enjoying the clouds slowing moving overhead.

It doesn’t get any better than this life.  It’s a rich life that doesn’t cost you much, if you know how to look for it.  I have bamboo wind chimes.  They sound like the polynesian drums in the distant.  The occasional helicopter ferrying tourist to view the volcano, in between chirping birds singing and feeding from the seeds.  My chickens quietly taking dust baths in the dry dirt and sunning themselves with their babies.  Future egg layers.

The trade breezes rustling the leaves in the monkeypod trees and the palms, makes for a pleasant entrance to the afternoon.  ‘Auinalā!

island_hula

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Aloha Wau Ia Moku o Keawe”

  1. zardoz007 Says:

    Kini,

    You’re breaking my heart, man.

    Right now in central New Mexico the wind is gusting over 40 mph, the temperature is 35° and the wind chill is 23°. It was cloudy most of the day and tomorrow we’re supposed to peak out at 43°. The furnace is burning up expensive LP gas even though I’ve the set thermostat at 65° to save a few bucks.

    The hot water heater has been busted for almost a month–a high-tech tankless model that is way beyond my capabilities to troubleshoot or repair. The local plumbers don’t have a clue as to how to fix it so I have to import a hired gun from Albuquerque to make the repairs. That’s 80 miles each direction–I hate to think what the trip charge is gonna be. He should be showing up in the morning with the parts to fix it.

    Thanks for the positive post–I needed some one to let me know that on the Big Island life is still sweet. I can almost smell the wings from here.

    Aloha,

    Z.

  2. Kini Says:

    Aloha Zardoz my friend! Good to hear from you again! Stay warm somehow. We have a tankless water heater also which we run on propane. Everything here is on propane. It saves lots of money though and it’s reliable. We upgraded ours a few years ago from the old fashion pilotlight to the electronic ignition. Our thermistor had burned out, so we opted to upgrade rather than replace. We have a generator if we ever need the power. Then again, all contingencies can’t always be foreseen. Good luck my friend, and happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

    • zardoz007 Says:

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, too.

      I’m heading into ABQ tomorrow to hit Costco and buy some goodies for Thanksgiving with some of the neighbors. Our little community has a strong sense of ohana and since both my sweetie and my sister are out of town I will join my extended “family” for the day.

      I’m thinking of looking for some SPAM so we can celebrate Hawaiian style…well, maybe not. Little chance of finding a lilikoi pie in these parts.

      Cheers,

      Z


Leave a Reply

