Aloha ‘Oe Mr. Spock

spock1

May the Stars Greet You On Your Final Voyage!

One of the greatest influences in my life was the television program, “Star Trek“.  I loved that program.  I also loved science,  and here was this television program with an alien named Mr. Spock from the planet Vulcan.  The character was the chief science officer aboard the Star Ship Enterprise.  It was Fascinating!

Star Trek ring

My Star Trek Academy Ring

The program was a huge influence in my life because I loved all the high-tech gadgets they would use on the program.  The communicators that later became a reality, the flip phones.  The medical scanners, which later became hand held diagnostic tools, such as blood analysis for diabetes, and advanced body scanners like CT or CAT scanners.

trek_badges

The iPad concept came from Star Trek and the computer voice recognition also was a Star Trek idea.  Way ahead of its time.  The developer of the Star Trek series, Gene Roddenberry was way ahead of his time.  He was a genius.

My future career in the electronics industry was inspired by these gadgets.  Science was an insatiable appetite for me.

3dChess

3 Dimensional Chess

I loved all the characters in the original series and in the series that followed: Next Generation, Enterprise, Deep Space 9, Voyager.  I even got all the Hallmark spaceships for my Christmas tree!  Especially the Shuttle Craft with Spock’s voice wishing a Happy Holidays!

 

It was sad when Scotty (James Doohan), then Dr.McCoy (DeForest Kelley) died.  Their characters were also huge influences in my life.  All the characters were in fact.  However, Spock had the greatest influence.  Although I never got to meet the actor behind the character, I went to many Star Trek conventions and met many of the stars from the Star Trek series.  It was always a entertaining experience.

2013-12-13 17.55.28

 

I still watch the original series, and I will spend the money to go see a Star Trek movie in the theaters.  I rarely go to the movies anymore.  Hollywood has become more HollyWeird and many of the movies are nothing like they were in the past.

Rest Well Leonard Nimoy

Enterprise25

 

What’s For Dinner?

DSC01270

Klingon Gagh

 

 

 

One Response to “Aloha ‘Oe Mr. Spock”

  1. Kini Says:

    Published on Feb 27, 2015
    Michael Medved interviewed Leonard Nimoy (1931-2015) at Hillsdale College in 1989 as part of the CCA seminar on “Popular Entertainment and Its Impact on Society”
    To learn more about Hillsdale College and its CCA program, visit http://www.hillsdale.edu/outreach/cca


Leave a Reply

