Ohia Lehua

ohia

‘ōhiʻa lehua

ohiaFlower

 

ʻŌhiʻa lehua (Metrosideros polymorpha) is the most common and variable of all native Hawaiian trees. The species name polymorpha, which means “many forms,” is in danger due to an aggressive fungus called Ceratocystis Fimbriata, or rapid ‘Ohia death.  The fungus has destroyed entire forests in Hawai’i.

We have ‘Ohia Lehua trees on our property.  Two flowering species, one common type with red blossoms, and a more rare yellow blossom.  So far, none of our trees seem to be affected by the fungus, but that could change rapidly since the fungus is spreading quickly.

The ‘Ohia is one of the first plants that appear on fresh lava flows.  They attract bees and birds with their bright blossoms.  They are considered special to native Hawaiian folklore.   It is encouraged to keep the ‘Ohia trees on the property and not to cut them down.  A spiritual appreciation for the native plants.

We are praying for solution to save these native plants.

 

hruler22

 

 

2 Responses to “Ohia Lehua”

  1. zardoz007 Says:

    It seems like almost everyday I receive an email alerting me to a new post. I like the direction you’ve taken with the blog–short posts with pictures. I read way too many political blogs on the ‘net and need to get away from them now and then. Your blog provides that escape–it brings my blood pressure down a few notches.

    My lot 20 miles south of Kona has (had?) a lot of ‘Ohia on it. For the first time in many years we’ll be there this summer and get a chance to see how much they’ve been impacted by the fungus.

    Z.

  2. Kini Says:

    Mahalo Zardoz, I’m tired of being a lone voice in the sea of politics anymore. I still read the political blogs, but I’m going to allow the professionals that get paid take the lead. I’ll just lend my comments to their posts. There are too many things I’d rather do here to calm my soul for an uncertain future. They say the country is changing, I guess that’s what brought me here in the first place. So I might as well share what makes me happy with others. Plus it help with my BP also! 😆

    The east side has been most affected more so than the west. I hope you have a pleasant visit. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

»
