You And I

Roses1

Aloha kākou. As a Christian, I often wonder if I will be blessed to spend eternal life in Heaven. To be reunited with people that I know, loved ones and family. I have all those questions that I ask myself from time to time. Will I be found worthy enough to enter Heaven. I read an interesting article that asked the question if I would still be married when and if I do enter Heaven.

Jesus made it clear. He said that marriage, as we know it on earth, will not be the same in Heaven. In Matthew 22, Jesus was questioned about this. His response was: “For in the resurrection they neither marry nor are given in marriage but are like angels in Heaven” (Matthew 22:30).

Indeed, I cannot imagine what it would be like in Heaven. Would it be like being reborn into another world, another universe, another reality so different from the corporeal beings we know of ourselves. Would I have to be brought up again like a child being nurtured and taught in the new existence? Starting all over and relearning everything into another existence. Or would I find myself in a new existence where I would remember everything in my past existence. Would any regrets follow me into this new existence?

Would my time spent in Church be counted as credits towards entry into Heaven? So many what if’s. Maybe I worry too much. For what I understand of Heaven is that it is eternal and because our time on this planet, living on this third rock from the sun, life is short and transitory. Would the regrets and sins follow me into the next life? I was taught that entry into Heaven is eternal love. “The dreams of youth are the regrets of maturity“.

As corporeal beings on this planet, we can only speculate what Heaven would be like. We have the word of Jesus Christ that enlightened us. We have the Bible with stories of the Old and New Testaments to teach us. Then there’s the stories of eternal damnation. There is an obsession with the thought of Hell. Almost to a fault. We are taught that the underworld does exists. It is a continuous conflict in our daily lives as we witness evil in this existence. We struggle not to be wicked, but being imperfect beings we fail often to live up to a moral code. Which we can get absolution through supplication.

You may have guess by now that I’m celebrating my communal union with my soul mate. A commemoration of forty one years and going. Although, given my cantankerous and often argumentative personality, the real blessing is that I’m still alive to write about it. Love is Bliss.

.

hruler20

Today started with partially cloudy skies with occasional passing showers. Tradewinds are from the northeast at 9mph with gusts at 23mph. Cloud cover is 80%. Visibility is 10 miles. We got 27/64 inches of precipitation in the rain gauge overnight, that just a little over 3/8ths of an inch. Temperatures are in the mid 70’s. Humidity is at 83%. Barometric pressure is 30.08 inch and dewpoint is 71 degrees. UV index is 12. We have two tropical depressions heading our way, but they’re not expected to be anything but rain events next week.

ʻAukake ‘Eono, 2021

.